The Truth: Prisoners

As I mentioned before, this blogging is new to me and I am going to make the most of this. My goal is to discuss any issue hearing more facts and objective statements without people getting upset or having it take on a personal twist. When someone is too tied to an issue, they get upset and angry or they insult and push back really hard. Not here! Help me grapes a better understanding by adding comments that pertain to the matter at hand, so we can hear all sides without anyone getting overly excited. Then, we can leave the issue at the center and give everyone the ability to really allow the issue itself to resonate.

So, in my wife’s employment, she comes in contact with the prison system, as well as our refuse hauling company. After hearing many stories and touring a few facilities myself, I find it fascinating how it seems that prisoners have it pretty good in there, considering. Now, I am not talking statistics and figures, or detailing the actual living conditions, but from the fact of what they are provided. They get a roof over their head,  3 meals a day, healthcare, training, leisure time (TV) and other amenities. Yes, they are people and need to be treated as such but where do you draw the line? How good is too good a life in prison? To me, having TV would not make the cut but having more programs that teach them a trade seem good. They have to want to make this change as well but if it is too lush from them no one will ever want to leave.

Maybe I have not pondered the issue enough but I know people who work hard to make ends meet, live a decent crime-free lifestyle, yet do not have it as well as some of these prisoners do. It just seems that by breaking the law and going to prison, one should not have it that much better than if they were free. Period. Maybe they should get a stipend and have to budget that amount for how they live, just as many do outside of prison. If you overspend, you don’t eat until you get your next stipend. They can work at the facility as well, to earn additional perks, but they pay for their own healthcare plan, food, leisure time, etc. Their healthcare would be the same as it would be for anyone in that state who could afford it in that range. Then, there could also be demand for certain school type projects and hard labor hours to earn good behavior. I just think if there is no incentive to leave the system, many will find a way to remain in it.

So, maybe as a prisoner they do not have the choice of when they get to do anything but if they have all of these rights to this lifestyle when in there, what is the point of putting them in there in the first place? I am not saying that it should be Château d’If or Alcatraz but if you make it Club Med and don’t take a vested interest in challenging them to become improved individuals, then it seems that they will just keep coming back.

Author: Damon Shea

Currently, I operate a waste hauling and recycling company in Northeastern California and I am also working through an eMBA program. Per one of my courses we are emerging ourselves into social media and that is my main purpose behind blogging and all of the other social avenues that I am involved with. My blog will focus on the waste & recycling industry and any subject matter within. Born into the waste hauling business, I have been playing in and around garbage containers since a child and am not afraid to haul away what you throw out. As a leader/manager, I have found that it is the people who do the work and not the equipment, so I have focused on understanding all peoples, especially my team. About me personally, I am of Italian/Irish decent, Roman Catholic. I am the youngest of three children and am now married with a beautiful strong wife and two awesome girls. Through my job, I am a member of Rotary International and I also sit on the board of our local Chamber of Commerce. We are heavily involved with building up the community that we serve and will do all in power to make garbage and recycling an easy process. Together we can explore the myths and realities of the waste & recycling industry and perhaps still make the world a better place. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOG7V-vj5Fk

Leave a Reply

