What’s My Purpose?

So, for my eMBA program, we are in a class that emerges us into the world of social media. It has been huge challenge for me, as per our class requirements we are to blog, send tweets and use the many resources that social media offers. That is fantastic, and for a business must. Yet, for a private person, one who borders as a recluse for personal sharing, I feel I am forcing it and am a bit out of place trying to find my purpose here.

Deep down, I know we all have many things to offer others directly or indirectly in our lives. Over time, I have found that my outlook is not as common as most people that I have come in contact with, so I feel that I challenge others in ways that few would. But, putting that into a blog is entirely different and without a purpose just becomes a waste of words.

My problem is that I need a theme and at this time with assignments due, don’t really have one. Maybe, that is my theme – to find a theme. Anyway, but that is why I am blogging and coming up with topic discussions because it is part of my assignment and I am trying to think of topics interesting to me that no one seems to want to discuss. With you only agenda to find that truth you find out so much more as you are not blinded by your preconceived notions. It is amazing how exciting it can be discussing a subject that you are unbiased and really don’t care about.

So, that is my dilemma, finding a blog theme. I work in the waste and recycling industry but don’t really want to discuss more about it since I do that all week long. I’ll find something consistent but if you must know – there is no money in recycling, maybe metal when prices were high, but it costs a lot of money just to recycle products that by the end of the day it is cheaper, and probably less resources used, to just bury it. It is not all about money but it is a factor that you can’t just ask the government for as someone has to pay or not get paid.

 

Author: Damon Shea

Currently, I operate a waste hauling and recycling company in Northeastern California and I am also working through an eMBA program. Per one of my courses we are emerging ourselves into social media and that is my main purpose behind blogging and all of the other social avenues that I am involved with. My blog will focus on the waste & recycling industry and any subject matter within. Born into the waste hauling business, I have been playing in and around garbage containers since a child and am not afraid to haul away what you throw out. As a leader/manager, I have found that it is the people who do the work and not the equipment, so I have focused on understanding all peoples, especially my team. About me personally, I am of Italian/Irish decent, Roman Catholic. I am the youngest of three children and am now married with a beautiful strong wife and two awesome girls. Through my job, I am a member of Rotary International and I also sit on the board of our local Chamber of Commerce. We are heavily involved with building up the community that we serve and will do all in power to make garbage and recycling an easy process. Together we can explore the myths and realities of the waste & recycling industry and perhaps still make the world a better place. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOG7V-vj5Fk

Leave a Reply

