More Focused Blog Direction

Greetings! Am I wasting your time? Are my blog posts cancelled out and bypassed? Probably. And why? Honestly, I don’t feel that I have caught your attention or made it worth your time to read what I type. As I have mentioned before, this is all new to me. normally I observe and just read but never engage. In this course I am taking, having me step out is its main goal and after having received some social media advice from a colleague, I will stick to the following blogging topics:

  • Waste & Recycling news/ideas
  • Leadership/Management
  • Politics in the workplace

All three of these topics fill my everyday calendar and now that I am more focused, I will do my best to shoot quick darts to keep it interesting within these parameters. We’ll see what comes of it but it will help me decompress from the day some. But just on the surface, there are a lot of unknowns in the waste/recycle industry and many myths. And building on my past blog posts, I will share the truth in these topics and be objective when discussing.

As we move along, I encourage you to comment and say anything on your mind. I know that I am not always right, nor do I try to be; rather, I want to discuss and share, so be honest but also respectful so we can further the discussion. Awesome!

Last comment, a tip! If you have extra trash and don’t want to pay extra fees, you might want to leave some soda or beer for your route driver. 9 times out of 10, they will take your extra trash no questions asked. I know I did when on route, especially when I received a little extra. Ha!

Author: Damon Shea

Currently, I operate a waste hauling and recycling company in Northeastern California and I am also working through an eMBA program. Per one of my courses we are emerging ourselves into social media and that is my main purpose behind blogging and all of the other social avenues that I am involved with. My blog will focus on the waste & recycling industry and any subject matter within. Born into the waste hauling business, I have been playing in and around garbage containers since a child and am not afraid to haul away what you throw out. As a leader/manager, I have found that it is the people who do the work and not the equipment, so I have focused on understanding all peoples, especially my team. About me personally, I am of Italian/Irish decent, Roman Catholic. I am the youngest of three children and am now married with a beautiful strong wife and two awesome girls. Through my job, I am a member of Rotary International and I also sit on the board of our local Chamber of Commerce. We are heavily involved with building up the community that we serve and will do all in power to make garbage and recycling an easy process. Together we can explore the myths and realities of the waste & recycling industry and perhaps still make the world a better place. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOG7V-vj5Fk

Leave a Reply

