Recycling Triangles 1-7…huh?

We have all seen them on various plastics that we have ion our possession. From milk containers to soda bottles to styrofoam cups, they all have the triangle on them somewhere. It is fun to see if you can find all 7 but beyond that we probably have not given it much thought. Here is a quick run through of them and some examples:

#1 Polyethylene terephthalate….plastic water bottles or soda…

#2High density polyethylene….milk containers and laundry detergent jugs…

#3Vinyl….PVC pipes, food containers and shampoo bottles…

#4Low density polyethylene….bread bag plastic, squeeze type bottles…

#5Polypropylene….plastic bottle caps, microwave food containers…

#6Polystyrene….styrofoam, cups and plates, to go food containers…

#7Other….baby bottles, juice bottles, sippy cups….

Our collection company takes 1-7 and even though there a few that are hard to find recyclers for or even recycle, we know it can get confusing, so we take them all and sort it on the back end. Various sites online and many recyclers have this information available for educational purposes if you want to dig deeper. This site had some examples that I used above and also covers it more in depth – learn.eartheasy.com/2012/05/plastics-by-the-numbers/

Thank you for recycling and not using many natural resources to begin with.

Author: Damon Shea

Currently, I operate a waste hauling and recycling company in Northeastern California and I am also working through an eMBA program. Per one of my courses we are emerging ourselves into social media and that is my main purpose behind blogging and all of the other social avenues that I am involved with. My blog will focus on the waste & recycling industry and any subject matter within. Born into the waste hauling business, I have been playing in and around garbage containers since a child and am not afraid to haul away what you throw out. As a leader/manager, I have found that it is the people who do the work and not the equipment, so I have focused on understanding all peoples, especially my team. About me personally, I am of Italian/Irish decent, Roman Catholic. I am the youngest of three children and am now married with a beautiful strong wife and two awesome girls. Through my job, I am a member of Rotary International and I also sit on the board of our local Chamber of Commerce. We are heavily involved with building up the community that we serve and will do all in power to make garbage and recycling an easy process. Together we can explore the myths and realities of the waste & recycling industry and perhaps still make the world a better place. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VOG7V-vj5Fk

Leave a Reply

